National Book Award Winners for Fiction

Complete list of National Book Winners For Fiction

The National Book Awards are considered by many to be the nation's preeminent literary prizes since its establishment in 1950. The Awards are given to recognize achievements in four genres: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People's Literature.


Year Author Title
2012 Louise Erdrich The Round House
2011 Jesmyn Ward Salvage the Bones
2010 Jaimy Gordon

Lord of Misrule

2009 Colum McCann

Let The Great World Spin

2008 Peter Matthiessen

Shadow Country

2007 Denis Johnson

Tree of Smoke

2006 Richard Powers The Echo Maker
2005 William T. Vollmann Europe Central
2004 Lily Tuck The News from Paraguay
2003 Shirley Hazzard The Great Fire
2002 Julia Glass Three Junes
2001 Jonathan Franzen The Corrections
2000 Susan Sontag In America
1999 Ha Jin Waiting
1998 Alice McDermott Charming Billy
1997 Charles Frazier Cold Mountain
1996 Andrea Barrett Ship Fever and Other Stories
1995 Philip Roth Sabbath's Theater
1994 William Gaddis A Frolic of His Own
1993 E. Annie Proulx The Shipping News
1992 Cormac McCarthy All the Pretty Horses
1991 Norman Rush Mating
1990 Charles Johnson Middle Passage
1989 John Casey Spartina
1988 Pete Dexter Paris Trout
1987 Larry Heinemann Paco's Story
1986 E. L. Doctorow World's Fair
1985 Don DeLillo White Noise
1984 Ellen Gilchrist Victory over Japan: A Book of Stories
1983 Alice Walker The Color Purple
1982 John Updike Rabbit is Rich
1981 Maxine Hong Kingston China Men
1980 William Styron Sophie's Choice
1979 Tim O'Brien Going After Cacciato
1978 Mary Lee Settle Blood Ties
1977 Wallace Stegner The Spectator Bird
1976 William Gaddis JR
1975 (shared) Robert Stone Dog Soldiers
1975 (shared) Thomas Williams The Hair of Harold Roux
1974 (shared) Thomas Pynchon Gravity's Rainbow
1974 (shared) Isaac Bashevis Singer A Crown of Feathers and Other Stories