National Book Critics Circle Award For Fiction

Complete List of Winners

Every year, the National Book Critics Circle presents awards for the finest books published in English. Awards for fition, nonfiction, biography, and autobiography. Below are the past winners of the National Book Critics Circle annual awards for Fiction.


Year Author Title
2013 Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Americanah
2012 Fountain, Ben Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk
2011 Edith Pearlman Binocular Vision: New & Selected Stories
2010 Jennifer Egan A Visit from the Goon Squad
2009 Hilary Mantel Wolf Hall
2008 Roberto Bolaño 2666
2007 Junot Diaz The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
2006 Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss
2005 E.L. Doctorow The March
2004 Marilynne Robinson Gilead
2003 Edward P. Jones Known World
2002 Ian McEwan Atonement
2001 W.G. Sebald Austerlitz
2000 Jim Crace Being Dead
1999 Jonathan Lethem Motherless Brooklyn
1998 The Love of a Good Woman: Stories Alice Munro
1997 Penelope Fitzgerald The Blue Flower
1996 Gina Berriault Women in Their Beds: New and Selected Stories
1995 Stanley Elkin Mrs. Ted Bliss
1994 Carol Shields The Stone Diaries
1993 Ernest J. Gaines A Lesson Before Dying
1992 Cormac McCarthy All the Pretty Horses
1991 Jane Smiley A Thousand Acres
1990 John Updike Rabbit at Rest
1989 E.L. Doctorow Billy Bathgate
1988 Bharati Mukherjee The Middleman and Other Stories
1987 Philip Roth The Counterlife
1986 Reynolds Price Kate Vaiden
1985 Anne Tyler The Accidental Tourist
1984 Louise Erdrich Love Medicine
1983 William Kennedy Ironweed
1982 Stanley Elkin George Mills
1981 John Updike Rabbit Is Rich
1980 Shirley Hazzard The Transit of Venus

Richmond Heights Memorial Library

Jeanette Piquet, Director
8001 Dale Avenue
Richmond Heights, Missouri 63117
Voice: 314.645.6202 Fax: 314.781.3434

The Richmond Heights Memorial Library is a member of the

 MLC logo

Home| My Account | Children's Page | Teen's Page | Databases

This page last updated February 20,2014
Webmaster Ray D. Harrison, Information Services Librarian

Please send comments and suggestions concerning this page to the Webmaster at: