The Man Booker Prize Winners

Complete list of the Man Booker Prize.

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction represents the very best in contemporary fiction written by a citizen of the British Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland.

Year Author Title
2013 Eleanor Catton The Luminaries
2012 Hilary Mantel Bring up the Bodies
2011 Julian Barnes
The Sense of an Ending
2010 Howard Jacobson
The Finkler Question
2009 Hilary Mantel Wolf Hall
2008 Aravind Adiga The White Tiger
2007 Anne Enright The Gathering
2006 Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss
2005 John Banville The Sea
2004 Alan Hollinghurst The Line of Beauty
2003 D.B.C. Pierre Vernon God Little
2002 Yann Martel Life of Pi
2001 Peter Carey The True History of the Kelly Gang
2000 Margaret Atwood The Blind Assassin
1999 J. M. Coetzee Disgrace
1998 Ian McEwan Amsterdam
1997 Arundhati Roy The God of Small Things
1996 Graham Swift Last Orders
1995 Pat Barker The Ghost Road
1994 James Kelman How Late It Was, How Late
1993 Roddy Doyle Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha
1992 Michael Ondaatje The English Patient
1992 Barry Unsworth Sacred Hunger
1991 Ben Okri Famished Road
1990 A. S. Byatt Possession: A Romance
1989 Kazuo Ishiguro The Remains of the Day
1988 Peter Carey Oscar and Lucinda
1987 Penelope Lively Moon Tiger
1986 Kingsley Amis The Old Devils
1985 Keri Hulme The Bone People
1984 Anita Brookner Hotel du Lac
1983 J. M. Coetzee Life & Times of Michael K
1982 Thomas Keneally Schindler's List
1981 Salman Rushdie Midnight's Children
1980 William Golding Rites of Passage
1979 Penelope Fitzgerald Offshore
1978 Iris Murdoch The Sea, The Sea
1977 Paul Scott Staying On
1976 David Storey Saville
1975 Ruth Prawer Jhabvala Heat and Dust
1974 Nadine Gordimer The Conservationist
1973 J. G. Farrell The Siege of Krishnapur
1972 John Berger G
1971 V. S. Naipaul In a Free State
1970 Bernice Rubens The Elected Member
1969 P. H. Newby Something to Answer For